McLaren, Cross the Road

I read this Brian McLaren book with my early morning book club – a couple of books ago. Hence, it’s inclusion in my catch-up blog posts from my spring reading.

McLaren writes about what it means to be a Christian in a pluralistic world in “Why Did Jesus, Moses, the Buddha and Mohammed Cross the Road: Christian Identity in a Multi-Faith World”. He again proposes his “third way” of engaging people of other faiths that avoids focusing on condemnation or conversion. His aim is to create relationships between Christians and people of other faiths that are not marked by “rivalry and hostility.”

It’s pretty straight forward McLaren. He seems to want to create a Christianity that has no desire to see others know Jesus in a saving way – mainly because he doesn’t seem to believe in sin or its effects. If nobody is wrong, then nobody has any need for salvation and then Jesus actually becomes one player in a religious landscape – not the Lord, Creator and Savoir for all creation. McLaren tends (as in other books) to set up a false idea to argue against to make his point stronger. His ideas, in my opinion, are not strong enough to stand on their own if he needs a straw man to argue against.

The book does help Christians to stop viewing unbelievers as the enemy. They are not – they are victims of sin and Satan. If Christians view unbelievers – of even believers that they disagree with – as the enemy, then they will struggle to be compassionate, merciful and full of grace towards them. If we can, instead, come alongside people, we will experience what it is to be Jesus in and for the world we live in.

Here’s some fun McLaren quotes:

  • p.19, “Whether we realize it or not, most of us who suffer from [Conflicted Religious Identity Syndrome] are trying to distance ourselves from religious hostility. By hostility I mean opposition, the sense that the other is the enemy.”
  • p.31, “The standard approach to Muslims from my conservative Evangelical upbringing was clear: be nice to them when necessary in order to convert them to Christianity; otherwise, see them as spiritual competitors and potential enemies. In effect, the approach tended to dehumanize the other, turning others into ‘evangelistic targets’… “
  • p.102, “Guided by our new mentors from among the formerly colonized, we discover that the gospel of Jesus Christ can liberate those who have been privileged by imperial systems just as it liberates the oppressed victims of those systems.”
  • p.121, “Abraham’s greatness is for the sake of others: And all nations on earth will be blessed through you.”
  • p.180, “It’s surprising how few Christians realize that John the Baptist didn’t invent baptism. He revolutionized it. He turned it from a sign of submission to the religious status quo into an act of guerrilla theater that protested the religious status quo.”
One thought on “McLaren, Cross the Road

  1. I enjoyed reading your post especially since I am currently reading this book. I will admit that I am still making my way through the book so I will reserve my final comments for later. I also have only read one other book by McLaren so I do have a bit more research to do on this author. In terms of my initial thoughts; from my reading thus far I wouldn’t say that he does not want people to know Jesus. What it seems to me is that he warns against is the type of “invasion” persuasion tactics that are often used by Christians. From what Im gathering he is calling us to re-think how we evangelize; and not the “us” against them “them approach that is popular. What I see is McLaren pointing us to look even more deeply at Jesus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

