Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

Northwest Christians love Don Miller because he’s one of our own and he writes like one of our own…and he’s just about the most honest Christian author you can find. His books are slices of his life that are easy to identify with and draw you in so that you feel motivated to live more and be a better, a more Christlike, you. I read A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: How I Learned to Live a Better Story on the recommendation of a friend, who told me it was about Miller’s process of turning his hit “Blue Like Jazz” from a book into a movie. Since we just featured that movie at The Grove on Sunday, it was helpful in my preparation.

Miller’s voice is so helpful for young adult Christians who are navigating an increasingly complex western world as they come of age and come to identify themselves with Christ as their Lord for life at the same time. It’s not the same world it was a couple decades ago, so I really appreciate Miller’s honesty and willingness to be a fellow traveler with the readers, as they try to figure out how to live – and how to do so to the fullest – in the current age. So, if you are young, or you are new to putting your faith in Jesus, this book will be so helpful to you and will bring life to you!

Here’s some fun words:

  • p.13, “And it only snows a few days a year in Portland, so people drive slowly and on the sidewalks thinking it might be safer. People who moved here from Boston come out of the woodwork to tell the natives they don’t know how to drive in snow.”
  • p.89, “I told God no again, but he came back to me and asked if I really believed he could write a better story – and if I did why didn’t I trust him?”
  • p.100, “People love to have lived a great story, but few people like the work it takes to make it happen. But joy costs pain.”
  • p.177, “The reward you get from a story is always less than you thought it would be, and the work is harder than you imagined.”
  • p.179, “I think this is when most people give up on their stories. They come out of college wanting to change the world, wanting to get married, wanting to have kids and change the way people bu office supplies. But they get into the middle and discover it was harder than they thought. They can’t see the distant shore anymore, and they wonder if their paddling is moving them forward. None of the trees behind them are getting smaller and none of the tree ahead are getting bigger. They take it out on their spouses, and they go looking for an easier story.”
One thought on “Miller, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

  1. I loved this book. I felt like it was written just for me, though obviously thousands of other people felt the same way, for it to become a best seller. Now that I’ve read Blue Like Jazz, I think I’ll go back and read again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

