12 for 12: run

I think that if you just live life randomly, then what happens to you becomes your life. I only have like 75 years or so on this planet and I’ve already spent almost half of them. So I live to make them count. As Khobi and I always say in the mornings, ‘Let’s attack the day!’ I want to destroy every single day and let it know that I own it. I’m that disturbed.

For me, running is therapeutic and relaxing. More than once I’ve lost track of where I was going and ended up very far from home and had to run way further than I hoped in order to get back. It’s quite funny, until I have to tell my legs we’re an hour from home.

I’ve even done a few running races, which are quite comical because small children consistently beat me. I figure if we were allowed to tackle in these races I might fare better.

Since running is so relaxing to me, I have always thought it would be fun to run ultra marathons. How relaxing it must be to just run for 100 miles, right? It might be a fancy vacation to run the pacific crest trail as well, except for the part where a cougar would eat me.

So this year, I’m going to try and run a race further than 5K, which is what I’ve done in the past. I haven’t registered or anything, but it’s only the beginning of the year. Maybe I’ll even get one of those stickers for the back of my car that let people know that even though I’m driving right now, if this rig ran out of gas I can run so far that I wouldn’t buy the expensive gas nearby, I’d run all the way to Costco and save my wallet the 6 cents a gallon.

Leave a Reply

