12 for 12: string theory and prayer

I think that if you just live life randomly, then what happens to you becomes your life. I only have like 75 years or so on this planet and I’ve already spent almost half of them. So I live to make them count. As Khobi and I always say in the mornings, ‘Let’s attack the day!’ I want to destroy every single day and let it know that I own it. I’m that disturbed.

I have the kind of brain that makes interesting connections between seemingly unrelated pieces of information. For instance, I think the Trinity is a perfectly normal and understandable theology when examined in a Cartesian system. It just makes sense.

Recently I have been learning about quantum mechanics and string theory and I think it has massive implications for our understanding of prayer. One of the pieces I find most interesting is the theory that moments in time exist at the same time, even though our experience of them is sequential.

This would have (at least) two immediate impacts on my understanding of the Bible. First, the existence of God for all eternity, and our living with him for the rest of eternity, becomes perfectly natural. Secondly, and more immediately and personally consequential, if prayer is momentary and sequential for us, yet simultaneous for God, who is able to exist independent of created order – then could our prayers not exist both forwards and backwards according to our experience of time and space?

That is to say, we could pray for things in the past and that prayer could affect change. Yet, our prayers and the past moments exist, according to my meek understanding of quantum theories, at the same time. So, our experience of the past would not change because it exists at this moment at the same time (so the ink in your history book wouldn’t magically change).

As you can see, this is exciting and troubling at the same time.

So, one of my twelve plans for this year is to gain a deeper understanding of quantum physics so that my understanding of God and creation will grow.

Leave a Reply

