Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Sometimes I have to read a book, just to remember that I love reading and I love using my imagination and stories are the greatest thing in the world.

So, with great embarrassment to admit, I read the Dragon Tattoo to start off my new year. I know, how could anyone go on reading this blog. It’s an intellectual train-wreck. Honestly, I read this because it was being made into a movie and I heard the movie was strong, so the book must be strong. This book and the Hunger Games books seem to be this year’s movies for people who like to tell everyone they are readers. Plus the Hobbit, but that’s more for people who like to read instead of interact with actual humans.

The book itself was gripping, but you feel gross after reading it. I guess that makes it good. It’s graphic and violent, so I wouldn’t suggest you read it if you don’t enjoy vomiting. It is northern European though, and that makes everything happier.


4 thoughts on “Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

  1. I’d seen the book on the bestseller list for a long time, so when we went to visit the in-laws for Christmas and they had it on Netflix, we were excited to watch it, not knowing anything about the plot. AWKWARD. Also, it was subtitled, since the original version was not in English.

    I’m not planning to read it. However, I DID really enjoy the Hunger Games, which were also intense and graphic, because of the clever way they built up to an actual point at the end. Not a solution, but very good questions regarding life and death, right and wrong, war and peace, power and inequity. And about individuals making difficult choices in impossible situations. I thought they would make for an excellent high school or college social studies discussion group.

    Like

  2. “Plus the Hobbit, but that’s more for people who like to read instead of interact with actual humans.”

    I LOL’d at this comment, but I cried a little inside as well…since this is one of my most favorite books and your comment is basically true. 😛

    Like

  3. I haven’t read The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, so my comment veers a little off topic, but I think The Hunger Games is a deceptively simple trilogy. One could easily read it just for the ride (and what a ride it is), but I’ve spent almost two years now thinking about various layers of the book including some interesting theological parallels (in my humble opinion 🙂 ).

    Also, I wanted to recommend another book if you haven’t had a chance to read it. Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy is a phenomenal read. The author, Eric Metaxas, recently spoke at the National Prayer Breakfast. I think you might enjoy his speech (if you haven’t already).
    http://www.c-spanvideo.org/program/NationalPrayerBreak (Metaxas begins at about 34 minutes.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

