12 for 12: read the bible.

I think that if you just live life randomly, then what happens to you becomes your life. I only have like 75 years or so on this planet and I’ve already spent almost half of them. So I live to make them count. As Khobi and I always say in the mornings, ‘Let’s attack the day!’ I want to destroy every single day and let it know that I own it. I’m that disturbed.

I am crazy about the Bible. When I was in bible college I thought I had a pretty good handle on life, and then I listened to my professors talk about the Bible the way that kids talk about their favorite sports teams (or adults, if they haven’t noticed that they grew up). They knew everything about the Bible. And not just knew where to look it up, or how to search and find it. They knew what the Bible taught and how we needed to wrestle with it and work it into our lives. I saw Collier quote entire chapters because someone asked a question. I saw Jenks and Vena tear up because of the way it gripped them.

Since then, for about 12 years now I have been praying that God would let me know the Bible. And he answers me. Almost every year I begin a new program to read through the Bible, and I never make it. One trip through the Bible actually tooko me 6 years. Last year it took me like 2 months to be able to read the story of Joseph…in Genesis. so far, I have only made it to Deuteronomy. And it’s not because I don’t spend the time on it. It’s because I hit sections that completely blow me away and when I try to move on, there’s no chance. I find something that I have never noticed before, something that changes everything and I cannot just check a box to say I’ve done my duty for the day. I end up grabbing other translations, reading commentaries and talking to anyone who will listen about it.

Like did you see that Joseph’s cup that he put in his little brother’s seed bag was the cup he used for divination? What is that about?

Like did you see how God separated light and dark? What did it look like before it was separated? And why do you figure that such an obscure Hebrew word was used for separate?

God answers my prayers by putting His word onto my heart so it is inescapable.

This year, I am still trying to finish my reading from last year, but that plan will have no time limit. I am also reading through YouVersion on my iphone. That I won’t be reading in so much of a devotional sense, and I’ll try to stay on better track with it. The YouVersion app is stunningly good, if you don’t have it on your phone or tablet, there’s not an app I would recommend more.

So, hopefully this year I’ll read the Bible through, plus get to read through to the end of Deuteronomy…maybe even Joshua and Judges!

Leave a Reply

