12 for 12: contribute

I think that if you just live life randomly, then what happens to you becomes your life. I only have like 75 years or so on this planet and I’ve already spent almost half of them. So I live to make them count. As Khobi and I always say in the mornings, ‘Let’s attack the day!’ I want to destroy every single day and let it know that I own it. I’m that disturbed.

In several different ways, I have reached tipping points. I am almost half done with life on earth and over ten years into vocational ministry, so I want to be thinking of how I can help younger leaders develop and grow, especially those who are just starting out. As a church plant The Grove has beat the odds and is a contributing, gospel leading, healthy, reproducing church; so we  (and specifically I) have gained a responsibility to help other church plants and planters. The Grove is at a growth stage where young leaders are going to need to emerge and take responsibility.

So my fifth area of work this year is going to be growing in my contributions to the development of others. Here’s how I’m hoping to implement my plan:

  • I’m going to be initiating intentional coaching relationships with a group of young leaders at The Grove. This won’t be for young leaders who aren’t teachable, because they have maxed out their potential because of their attitude. Nor will it be for those with tons of potential who are just sitting on their butts. Part of changing the way my time is spent is being very intentional; there’s a lot of people on mission at The Grove and those are the people we’re going to storm the gates of hell with. I’ll be looking for young leaders who are faithful servants with enthusiastic and teachable hearts.
  • I am continuing to develop relationships with younger leaders in our area, and in our conference. At the same time it’s completely natural and insane for me to think that (a) I have anything to contribute to them and (b) that I am old enough to think that. Locally I have actually attended a lunch with the other pastors in the city. It’s a huge step for me because I have a huge attitude about it. In a broader sense a bunch of us have started a little group of young leaders in our conference (churches in Oregon and Washington) and we are getting together to help each other learn and grow.
  • Finally, I want to help The Grove to help other church plants. From day one we have set aside money to some day fund a church plant, and we constantly talk about this amazing church reproducing itself all over the place. We have already had some people who were planting churches visit us to learn and be inspired. I wonder how we can be more intentional about this? At the very least I can share some of our best practices here on the old blog; I’ll be continuing to pray about how this will go in 2012.

 

One thought on “12 for 12: contribute

  1. “This won’t be for young leaders who aren’t teachable, because they have maxed out their potential because of their attitude. Nor will it be for those with tons of potential who are just sitting on their butts.”

    Best line!

    Like

Leave a Reply

