Preaching Matthew

In December we started a 114 week teaching series in the gospel of Matthew. So, far it will take us into 2014. I anticipate it taking us all the way to the end of 2014, because we will take a few breaks (ie, the whole church will be doing the second BASIC series post Easter this spring).

Just to be of help to those who might be wondering, or those who might end up here through a search, or to Grove peeps who want to do some deeper reading, here’s the list of books and commentaries that I am using so far:

 

  • ESV Study Bible. It’s what I prepare my preaching straight out of. When I actually preach I have a black leather ESV for portability sake.
  • The Message Bible. I use this for perspective, and a lot for catchy sermon titles and ideas. That’s cheesy of me, I know.
  • the Jewish New Testament Commentary by David H. Stern. I use this for all sermons I do from the New Testament, to help with contextualization.
  • Jesus the Jewish Theologian by Brad Young. Not a commentary in the technical sense, but Young gives thoughts on the various gospel stories.
  • The Gospel According to Matthew by Leon Morris (Pillar NT Commentary Series). This on is thick and deep and most of it is background reading that rarely makes it into the pulpit but makes sure I am online with what does make it.
  • Matthew by Stanley Hauerwas (Brazos Theological Commentary on the Bible Series). As one would expect this thinner commentary is theological in nature so it deals more with themes and movements in the gospel.
  • Matthew for Everyone (Volumes I & II) by N.T. Wright. This is the commentary series that I recommend first to most people. It is simple and to the point and helpful in seeing the story for what it is.
  • Matthew by Daniel J. Harrington (Sacra Pagina Series). This commentary comes from a Catholic perspective and I had not read anything like this before, so it sometimes gives me a whole new look at what the text is doing.
  • The Gospel of Matthew by Craig S. Keener (Eerdmans’ Socio-Rhetorical Commentary). This one is over 1,000 pages and is a detailed examination of the social context involved with the words recorded in conversations and speeches.
  • The Gospel of Matthew  by R.T. France (The New International Commentary on the NT Series) Another super thick and insanely detailed commentary. R.T. France translated the original text into English himself and then gives commentary on it. It’s amazingly detailed in the context of the time too.
  • Matthew by Michael J. Wilkins (The NIV Application Commentary Series). I always use the NIV Application commentaries because they are so diverse and they look at original meaning first and bridge that to the contemporary significance of the text. I don’t always agree with the conclusions, but that is a great way to cause growth for me!
One thought on “Preaching Matthew

  1. Pingback: And that was Matthew | re0rient

Leave a Reply

