12 for 12: read

I think that if you just live life randomly, then what happens to you becomes your life. I only have like 75 years or so on this planet and I’ve already spent almost half of them. So I live to make them count. As Khobi and I always say in the mornings, ‘Let’s attack the day!’ I want to destroy every single day and let it know that I own it. I’m that disturbed.

I am going to read at a pace of 25 pages a day, with one day off each week for 150 pages a week.

I love to read all the time, because it is a constant source of inspiration, ideas and new ways of thinking for me.  Usually reading for me is a feast or famine activity, depending on responsibilities, other studies and how sunny it is outside. So this year, I’m going to try and to a regular diet. I will read whatever books I feel like though, and I will just toss whatever books are junk (in the past I had a weird obsession with finishing books, so I’ve read a lot of junk books all the way through).

Last year I demolished about 33 books. Some great, some sucky, some way too long, some way too short. None with the word ‘sucky’ in them though…

Right now I still have about 70 books on the ‘to read’ shelf, but some off them won’t come off that shelf even this year. Some of them I just don’t want to read. In my office on my desk book shelf I have my weekly study reading of 9 or 10 source books as I am preaching 110 sermons on Matthew. And I have these books on my next-to-read shelf:

  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson. I like the Larsons so I thought I’d give this a shot.
  • Hearing God by Dallas Willard. I think this is going to be my next book club book.
  • Josephus, The Complete Works. I like this, but it is a bit tedious.
  • How to Wow your Church Guests by Mark Waltz. A tiny book just full of ideas.
  • The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. My number two priority in life is my marriage, dang straight I want to be awesome at it.
  • Radical by David Platt. This seems like a simple book, but Platt is stunningly brilliant.
  • The Pastor by Peterson. I really appreciate Eugene Peterson, and I learn more about the pastor’s spiritual life from him than from anyone.

That is  about 2700 pages. If I follow through I’ll be done these in like April or May. Dang.

One thought on “12 for 12: read

Leave a Reply

