Lewis, The Magician’s Nephew

My copies of the Narnia Series by C.S. Lewis are a bit over 20 years old, so it’s a lot of fun now to be turning around and reading them to my kids.  Khobi specifically has asked to go through the Narnia series, so that’s what we are reading.

The first book is called The Magician’s Nephew, and it tells the story of the very beginning of the world of Narnia.  It starts out a little slow and weird, but it gets going and then tells the creation story in the most beautiful way imaginable.  I am sure the kids don’t quite catch the parallels to the beginning of Genesis, but when they read them again as young adults, the stories will surely come alive in a new way.

Lewis is an amazing writer and thinker and this children book is stunning work with remarkable depth in the midst of a fun and interesting story.

One thought on “Lewis, The Magician’s Nephew

  1. I didn’t read the “Chronicles” until I was in my 20’s, and I remember that at that time one of my friends told me she was jealous of that fact because I still got to read them “for the first time.” Then and now, Lewis helps make the truths of our faith more accessible to both children and adults… and adults who are still children, like me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

