Ogilvie, Acts, The Preacher’s Commentary

part of a series of blog posts on commentaries that I used when preaching through the book of Acts @The Grove between Easter 2010 and 2011…

Lloyd J. Ogilvie is a retired Senate chaplain and has a ministry of speaking in a variety of contexts.  I got his commentary from the Preacher’s Commentary series for only 5 bucks on clearance at a Christian outlet store.

I didn’t read the whole thing.  It wasn’t deep at all and I couldn’t figure out what on earth his angle was besides basic comments on the book of Acts.  The book would be useful for a preacher who had taken no education.  For me, and for what I was looking for, it wasn’t as helpful as I hoped.  Good, but not what I hoped for.  Worth 5 bucks, but I’d give it away for free.

Leave a Reply

