20QL.1 Impact Mentor

20QL is going to be my thoughts on 20 questions on leadership.  I read these questions that were given by Michael Smith to Michael Hyatt on Hyatt’s blog.  They were used by Smith as a sharpening tool on his sabbatical.  While I’ve no near intention of sabbatical, I do use my blog as a sharpening tool in my life and I’m going to answer the 20 questions for myself to that end.  If you want, you should try answering them too.  So, here goes…

1.  Can you name a person who has had a tremendous impact on you as a leader? Maybe some one who has been a mentor to you? Why and how did this person impact your life?

I think I have an eclectic community of people who have impacted me as a leader.  I’ve had and continue to keep several coaches, mentors and other wise people in my life for improvement through those relationships.  I read widely and keep a set of mentors that way also.  If I had to narrow it down, I think the biggies would probably be Mike Yaconelli, Leonard Sweet, Rob Bell and Phillip Yancey.

I don’t think I can identify one single leader who has been the ‘biggie’ for me.  I can easily identify a couple dozens leaders, though, who have mentored me (some from up close and some from afar).  This, for me, allows me to pick and choose from their successes and failures so that I can develop myself as the particular leader I am.

I cannot be the next somebody else – I’ve got to be the first and best me!

Leave a Reply

