Lent 7: Burnham, In the Presence of my Enemies

Martin and Gracia Burnham were American missionaries in the Philippines who were randomly kidnapped by the Abu Sayaf.  They spent a year in captivity and, when the Philippine army finally freed them, Martin was killed by the army in the attack. When this was going on, I was in bible college and we prayed for the Burnhams every day; it was difficult when we found out that Mr. Burnham was killed.

This book is Gracia’s story of their lives, the year in captivity, and the hope that they found in Jesus.  It seems trite to me to give 10 take-aways, so I won’t.  I will tell you that this book gripped me because of my past prayers for them and I cried like a baby all through it.  Go on amazon and pick it up, you should be able to get it dirt cheap as a used book.

One thought on “Lent 7: Burnham, In the Presence of my Enemies

Leave a Reply

