Check-in September 22, 2009

weekend in review: Amazing weekend.  We had a super picnic for the North Albany community, hosted by the Grove.  I was super amped because of the number of new folks from the community and by the way that launch team members were friendly and open to bringing those folks into the Grove family.  The Grove is a pretty tight group – there’s a lot of love in the launch team – so one of my big prayers for us has been that we’d be open to new unbelievers coming into the Grove.  To see it happening brings me so much joy!  So, much props to the Missional Pathways team and especially to Tiesha who leads that team.  They’ve done an excellent job of giving the Grove a reputation for being a serving church in our community!  We love Albany!

on my list this week: Sunday is our next and last preview service.  I couldn’t be more excited.  This week we are working on making it smooth, with a focus on the load-in/load-out systems.  I’ve got a load of studying to do as well; trying to calender out my preaching.

current books: still reading Surprised by Hope, by NT Wright.  It is just so stellar.

current writing: sermons, systems and emails. We’re trying to have written down everything we are doing so that it goes smoothly.  same deal, but slower because I am ill.

culture that’s caught me: This week I am spending time learning on stewardship and financial systems for churches.  Interesting stuff, with many different views.  It’s a big subject to handle with people because our treasure is where we find our hearts.

how i’m feeling about this week: I’ve got LJ’s cold, so I’m dizzy when I move too fast.  Thankfully, I’ve got a lot of “butt-in”chair” work for this week.

quote for the week:“A question that sometimes drives me hazy: am I or are the others crazy?” -Albert Einstein

running report: none. But I got a boot to help heal my tendons.  They are doing so much better, I should be able to run by time it starts raining again!

Leave a Reply

