Reading the Bible

Part of my reading commitment this year is to read through the Bible. Part of the commitment counted for my Old Testament class which I had to read through Esther, Psalms, Isaiah and Amos. So, that’s what I read so far. I’m reading it in my copy of The Message, a readable paraphrase by Eugene Peterson. Sometimes that makes it wordy, but it’s also fun.

I love reading the Bible in big chunks for the way that it opens up the whole narrative. It’s not just bits and pieces to use in proofs and theologies. I am also more able to see how seemingly disconnected stories really do fit together in interesting ways.

pages read= 1128 ~ year to date=2194 ~ 2009 goal=18,250 ~ (12%)

Leave a Reply

