MMC December 1, 2008

weekend in review: This weekend, of course, was marred by the Beavers complete lack of defense against the ducks.  Thanksgiving was nice, though I was ill.  I got totally dizzy at the dinner table and ended up sleeping it off.  Went shopping on Friday morning, did some birthday partying, which will continue today.  Spent lots of time with family and friends, and that is a good weekend for me!

on my list this week: I have a good week coming up – with a couple little fires to put out and plans to implement.  It will need to be productive!  I also am WAY behind on my reading, so I’m hoping to get that rythym back in gear.

current books: Starting Purpose Driven Churches by Sylvia.  still.  But I am also reading Wired magazine and Fast Company, both of which have been inspiring.

current writing: I have some scribbling on some leadership stuff that I have been doing.  Cool stuff, but it’s future oriented.

culture that’s caught me: When I lived in the south I was a NASCAR fan because if you wanted to have a conversation with someone about anything you had to have an answer to the Jeff Gordon question.  Now that I live in the valley I am a college football fan.  If you want to have a conversation about anything you have to have an answer to the Duck or Beaver question.

question I’d ask God: How can we best respond to local jihad in africa, asia and indonesia?

how i’m feeling about this week: I am looking forward to this week.  We’re going to be setting up for Christmas which is always exciting.

Quote for the week: I got these quotes from Seth Godin’s new book Tribes, via Perry Noble’s site:

  • “People yearn for change, they relish being part of a movement and they talk about things that are remarkable, not boring.”
  • “Leaders make a ruckus.”
  • “Organizations that destroy the status quo win.”
  • “Boring ideas don’t spread.  Boring organizations don’t grow.”
  • “We choose not to be remarkable because we’re worried about criticism.  We hesitate to create innovative movies, launch new human resource initiatives, design a menu that makes diners take notice, or give an audacious sermon because we’re worried, deep down, that someone will hate it and call us on it.”
  • “If the only side effect of the criticism is that you will feel bad about the criticism, then you have to compare that bad feeling with the benefits you’ll get from actually doing something worth doing.  Being remarkable is exciting, fun, profitable and great for your career.  Feeling bad wears off.”
  • “Odds are that growth and success are now inextricably linked to breaking the odd rules and seeing your organization’s new rules loose an industry too afraid to change.”
  • “The art of leadership is understanding what you can’t compromise on.”
  • “Leadership requires acting and thinking like the underdog.  That’s because leaders workto change things, and the people who are winning rarely do.”
  • “The secret of leadership is simple:  Do what you believe in.  Paint a picture of the future.  Go there.  People will follow.”

Running Report: I again did two miles.  Then I went out and bought running pants so that I didn’t destroy myself with coldness.  Should feel better this week.

One thought on “MMC December 1, 2008

Leave a Reply

