Monday Morning Check-In September 22 2008

weekend in review: Heather was away this weekend for the SACC women’s retreat.  So, we’re both a little spent.  The kids and I did our first round of Hallowe’en shopping.  Many Christian families don’t buy into  Halowe’en, and that’s cool, but we do.  In an illogical sense, if consumerism has destoryed Christmas, then if you are an opponent of Hallowe’en, then you should try and consumer it to death (this is the first time this thought has occurred to me…consumer it to death…interesting…).  Anyways, we have to start thinking about costumes now, because LJ likes to take quite a while to decide what he wants to dress up as.  I wanted to be Hannah Montana, but we couldn’t find any costumes big enough.  We also started up our small (medium) group.  It was really cool to have my close friends in the group, along with some newer friends.  We are going to have a cool time.

on my list this week: I am preaching on Jesus this weekend, asking the question, “Are you about Jesus?”  It’s a difficult thing for me to put all of my passion about Jesus into 25 minutes, so I will have to talk fast and turn the heat up.  In hot air sounds travel faster, so we can cover more content if the A/C is off.  Also I have a few meetings on tap, plus some travel plans that need to be arranged.

current books: I redid my reading schedule because of some different assignments that I have due, like in ten days.  So, I’m reading 25 pages each day of The Story of Christianity, by Justo Gonzalez, I’m at the beginnings of monasticism right now.  I am also reading this week two books on Jesus that are coming today.  One I heard of from Randy Butler called Cross And Covenant by Shelton, the other is my first N.T. Wright book, The Challenge of Jesus.  I also cashed in my expiring American Airlines points to subscribe to a few magazines, which I mine for inspiration and read during my icebaths after running (and yes that’s as sucky as it sounds, but it works wonders!)

current writing: I need to blog on Warren’s book and do my assignments for church history class.

culture that’s caught me: Charlie the Unicorn.  It’s so weird.

I also watched part of the Emmy’s last night.  It had a bunch of reality TV hosts acting as the host.  It’s kind of like a show that the networks know they need to put on so that they can advertise themselves the week before season premieres come on, but nobody wants to invest in anything that would make anyone watch.  It’s like a dying organization that won’t admit it’s dying, because it has such a long legacy.

question I’d ask God: Why and how do you wait so long?  I assume it’s because you have existed for eternity so what seems long to me doesn’t seem long to you, but you also get pretty antsy sometimes int he Scripture, so how do you do decide when to be patient and when to act?

how i’m feeling about this week: Ok – I feel like I’m carrying a bit of weight this week, so I am going to have to process that, but, as far as I know, life will continue.

Ran last week: On my run yesterday I found some money on the sidewalk so I picked it up and put it into the doorframe of the house it was in front of.  I also learned not to run a new route when you’re upset – you get lost and then have to run too hard to make it home in time!  All the same, 4 runs for 14.6 miles.  I did a walk down to a track and did a 1-mile run in 7:31.  It was just for comparison later and to show my legs that they can go a little faster (but not for much longer lol).  Ran 4 miles yesterday at a 9 minute pace doing 5/1 and 6/1 run/walk minutes.  Ran around a sketchy part of town, reminding me to pray for my city as I run.  And I have completely no knee pain which is a wonderful result of not overdoing it, which is my tendency…

Goal for this week: I’m going to do two 6/1 splits for about 30 minutes and a 7/1.  Do about 3 runs for 10+ miles.

Quote for the week: (this is a new addition to provoke inspiration and thought!)  Error never shows itself in its naked reality, in order not to be discovered.  On the contrary, it dresses elegantly, so that the unwary may be led to believe that it is more truthful than truth itself. ~ Irenaeus of Lyons

Leave a Reply

