Possibilities

I’m going to a wedding rehersal in a couple hours.  It’s for Lacy and Patrick.  They are a young couple who serve in the Driven youth ministry and do an excellent job of it.  It’s going to be my first wedding that I do for a student who “grew up” in my youth ministry.  My third or fourth wedding overall – depending on how you count.

Generally I don’t do weddings for people I don’t know.  I do weddings for my family, and I did Melissa and Evan Johnson’s because I saw something in them that I really liked – it was refreshing for me to do their wedding.  However, if I don’t know the people, and there’s a good chance they just need a pastor – I’d rather do something else with my weekend.  Weddings are beautiful because of the people involved, not just because they are a wedding.

So, I’m excited for this wedding this weekend because of my friendship with both Lacy and Patrick!

Leave a Reply

