Terrorism and Justice

It seems that the Pentagon has set up rules for the trials of suspected terrorists. Only the rules are kinda surprising.  For a long time I have had a problem with holding suspected terrorists (a la Gauntanamo Bay – which I polly can’t spell) without a trial. To me, it seems to undermine foundational principles upon which America was founded. I feel the same way about torture. Yet, I am not naive. I understand what a war is and I understand the toll that these kinds of things take on human beings. It is a sad situation all around.

I am against torture, yet I am against terrorism. I am against extended detention without trial, yet I am against freedom through judicial loop-holes.

In any case, we must continue to pray for our leaders because they have to make decisions, sometimes, where there is no right choice…only a choice of which wrong is worse…

Leave a Reply

